horizontal line

The concerto for mixed (or multiple or several) instruments is a fascinating musical sub-genre that has been curiously sidelined in the history books. Yet by allowing composers to experiment with all kinds of instrumental colours, it has produced some of the most striking and attractive music of the 18th century – from Bach’s Brandenburgs at one end, to Mozart’s flute and harp concerto at the other. That Telemann was among the most skillful and prolific composers of such concertos is evident from La Stagione Frankfurt’s latest series of recordings. Bringing these works together on disc, possibly for the first time, really underlines their astonishing variety.

Telemann’s renowned ability to mix elements

Graham Lock Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Early Music Today, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing