horizontal line

Salisbury Cathedral’s Father Willis makes its first appearance on disc since its recent substantial restoration with a compendium of familiar pieces initially intended for a Covid-cancelled live prom. Assistant director of music John Challenger rises splendidly to the occasion with a crowd-pleasing recital ranging from Handel’s liltingly delivered Largo and Bach’s satisfyingly hefty BWV 565 Toccata & Fugue to Walton’s Orb and Sceptre March (here with muscular nobility) and Elgar’s Nimrod never more serene. Equally pleasing is Lohengrin’s spryly voiced Prelude and Bridal Chorus, strong advocacy for Alcock’s woefully under-appreciated Marche Triomphale and a robustly buoyant account of the first Pomp and Circumstance March. The venerable organ has never sounded better.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2021 - ©Rhinegold Publishing