horizontal line

Angela Hewitt’s previous recordings of Bach, Mozart and Ravel – with their combination of rigour, precision and poetry – stand her in good stead in her new recital for Hyperion, which comprises the essential Debussy piano music outside the Préludes, Études and Images. Children’s Corner is delightfully light and airy, with some remarkably delicate touches, culminating in a rollicking Golliwog’s Cakewalk. The playing in the Suite bergamasque is near ideal, Clair de lune weaving its subtle magic but as a part (for once) of a convincing whole. The Arabesques, Masques and Pour le piano sparkle in her hands but it is in the Danse (originally the Tarantelle styrienne, later orchestrated by Ravel) and L’isle joyeuse that the most sublime playing is to be found. La plus que lente completes a hugely enjoyable disc. Hyperion’s production values are superb.

GUY RICKARDS Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2013 - ©Rhinegold Publishing