horizontal line

Spread over two generously filled discs, this first volume promises much. It is not too grand a claim that Rabinovich is up there with Jean-Efflam Bavouzet in this repertoire. Sonata No 36 is exquisite; Rabinovich pitches the exploratory side of the central Adagio perfectly. Decorations are consistently in style throughout, yet it is in Rabinovich’s understanding of structure that he triumphs. He also understands that Haydn’s fragile textures (often only two parts) have an eloquence all of their own.

The spread of invention in the Haydn sonatas presented here is remarkable, and Rabinovich seems to delight in each and every turn, from the harmonic delights of the first movement of No 29 to the sweet yet almost exploratory manner of CPE Bach in the Divertimento. Delightful.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2019 - ©Rhinegold Publishing