horizontal line

Equinox is an outstanding disc: the choice of music is inspired, the singing superb, and the interpretations stay long in the memory. The programme is based on composer-in-residence Jonathan Dove’s cycle The Passing of the Year, with the composer at the piano. His descriptive writing not only enhances the texts but has a compelling intensity. The cycle, charting the changing of the seasons, provides a backdrop for a complementary cycle of lucid, sacred music for the church’s year based mainly on plainchant and hymns. Here the composers include Michael and Hieronymus Praetorious, Britten, Graham Lack, Pärt and Philip Stopford. You won’t regret buying this.

SHIRLEY RATCLIFFE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2018 - ©Rhinegold Publishing