horizontal line

Mozart’s Concerto in E-flat K449 deserves more outings, especially when performed as well as this: Bavouzet seems to have even more energy than the orchestra. Arguably the central Andantino is slower than this tempo marking might imply, but it leads to a stylish finale. The two Divertimentos are pure joy in sound, and all credit to the violins of the Manchester Camerata for their articulation: vim, wit and grace are here in roughly equal measure, the slow movement of K138 in particular reaching unexpected profundity.

The well-known K459 is sprightly and fresh, with delightful give-and-take between orchestra and soloist. The finale scampers wonderfully in one of the best performances available; Mozart’s cadenza is brilliantly done. This is one of the finest accounts of K459.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing