horizontal line

This generous and thoughtfully chosen sequence of arias begins with Haydn’s Scena di Berenice, with Bevan in imperious form yet alive to text and colour throughout. The programme, which ends with a superbly dramatic Ah! Perfido of Beethoven, celebrates the connections between the three composers, yet there is sufficient contrast in mood and intensity that at no point does the disc outstay its welcome. With delightfully pointed playing from Page’s recently-formed ensemble, and with fine sound and presentation, this is a treasure.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing