horizontal line

Simon Vincent’s Stations of the Cross (2016) comprises 17 short, slow movements, inspired by a visit to Jerusalem and by William Fairbanks’ wood sculptures in Lincoln Cathedral. Vincent’s vision resonates with Messiaen’s contemplations of the Divine while also using his own musical vocabulary. All movements are projected by the composer with the utmost concentration: when Jesus falls for the second time (Station VII), it is as if we observe the event objectively, frozen in time. The use of silence recalls the music of Morton Feldman; spaces between notes bristle with energy and potential, as relationships between the individual and the collective are explored. The Meditations acts as a vital part of the experience, an exploration of the power of chordal structures. An immersive experience, deeper than its duration might imply.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing