horizontal line

The nature of time is the subject here, inspired by a quote from Macbeth. Subtitled ‘Meditations for piano’, the disc presents a sequence of 14 movements that ruminate gently on familiarity, stillness, melancholy, chance and the grief of a loved one’s passing. Gentleness is at the heart of Darvill-Evans’ musical expression: he lists Chopin, Satie, Debussy, Glass and Ryuichi Sakamoto as influences.

The first piece introduces the composer’s world: ‘Clouds’ tells a story using simple gestures and resonance. Here, as elsewhere, the music is deceptively complex and poses many subtle demands. Siwan Rhys seems the ideal interpreter, ever-fresh in her delivery. Sound quality is superb, capturing the resonant spaces invoked by Darvill-Evans to perfection. A lovely disc.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing