horizontal line

‘Is it justified to record three of Beethoven’s best known piano sonatas yet again?’ So starts the booklet note – and it is a good question. At time of writing, Presto Classical’s website lists 296, 344 and 358 recordings respectively of these evergreen works. New interpretations need to be exceptional to get noticed.

Sunwook Kim is undeniably technically gifted and his account of the Pathétique opens arrestingly – perhaps too much so. Where Lewis or the late, great Anthony Goldstone catch the power and drama of Beethoven’s ‘Grave’ marking Kim is just slow, lacking impulse. He picks up the pace for the Allegro but omits the Grave in the repeat. There is nothing else exceptionable about this disc. Kim’s mellifluous accounts do not short-change, but despite the importuning sales pitch of the booklet note I doubt I will return often to them. Accentus’ sound is stunning.

GUY RICKARDS Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2017 - ©Rhinegold Publishing