horizontal line

Firsova’s family left the USSR for Britain and this disc presents works by all three composers therein: father Dmitri Smirnov’s haunting Blake Sonata and shorter pieces by mother Elena Firsova and Alissa herself. Their musical émigré godfather here is Rachmaninov, and Firsova includes an impressive reading of the Corelli Variations.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing