horizontal line

Curious title aside, of the three world premiere recordings here the point of interest is Richard Pantcheff’s op.74 Sonata for Violin and Organ. Composed in 2010 and cast in three movements, it offers a remarkably assured blending of the keening middle voice and skittish and silky high strings of the violin to the more grounded timbres of the organ. The characterful, often nimble dialogues that ensue (the lively Tarantella finale a case in point) prove exquisitely rewarding. Both soloists play with nuanced feeling, and Duncan Honeybourne is an articulate advocate both for the music and for the expressive II/33 Kuhn organ (2007) of Jesus College, Cambridge. Ravishing accounts, too, of violin and piano sonatas by Herbert Sumsion (op.3) and Harold Darke (op.2).

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing