horizontal line

This recital of music from the Medici period to the unification of Italy contains music by composers associated with Florence: Heinrich Isaac, Cristofano Malvezzi, Emilio de’ Cavalieri, Frescobaldi, Casini, Feroci, Cherubini, Bellini, Casamorata and Maglioni. The two fine organs sound well both in the early and the later music. Worth hearing is the transcription of Cavalieri’s O che nuovo miraculo (Intermedi,1589), which became famous as the Ballo del Granduca. Such a wide range of styles is relished by Giacomelli. Of special mention are the anonymous Offertories, Elevations and Toccatas, as well as Bellini’s operatic Elevazione

DAVID PONSFORD Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing