horizontal line

Of all Bach’s large-scale solo keyboard works, probably these three have the most appealing and rewarding first movements, persuasive to anyone exploring beyond the ‘48’. Rudolf Buchbinder’s performances on a modern piano are mostly sane and peaceful, despite some heavy-handedness to open and close the English Suite, and some clipped bars in its Sarabande. I enjoyed his unapologetic pedalling and mid-movement rallentandos. Repeats are discreetly – sometimes cheekily – ornamented, though authenticity does not extend to any unwritten chord-spreading or double-dotting in the C minor Partita’s Sinfonia, nor to correcting the long discredited B-flat (not C) that opens the same movement’s bar 21. Booklet notes are well translated and helpful, although there is not a word on Buchbinder himself.

MICHAEL ROUND Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing