horizontal line

There is spontaneity to Perianes’ playing in this live concerto that is most compelling. While the combination of the Barbican acoustic and the BBCSO might not bode well, actually the orchestra plays with great beauty. Perianes’ greatest achievement is the first movement cadenza, which emerges here as a brooding tone-poem; the debt to Liszt is clear. The natural flow of Perianes’ contributions to the Adagio seem the perfect counterpoint to the lush BBC strings. Unfortunately the finale sits on the verge of the superficial. Good to have solo Grieg as coupling. The choice of ‘Arietta’, with its nocturnal aura, acts as a bridge into the intimate world of the Lyric Pieces. ‘Butterfly’ is beautifully light, while for the ‘March of the Trolls’, Perianes’ spiky attack adds a touch of the macabre. The stand-out success is the remarkable ‘Notturno’; here Grieg’s interior side clearly resonates with Perianes.

COLIN CLARKE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Piano International, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing