horizontal line

Chandos has being doing sterling work in recent years to promote the cause of 20th-century Italian music, with excellent recordings of Dallapiccola and Petrassi standing out. This disc of three major works by Niccolò Castiglioni enhances the company’s reputation as one of the most adventurous of the independent labels, all the more so when the performances are as good as these. Noseda draws superbly involving readings of his compatriot’s music from his Danish forces. La Buranella (1990), an attractive seven-movement orchestral suite based on harpsichord sonatas by Galuppi, recalls Respighi’s manner in his Ancient Airs and Dances, but tinged by Webern Klangfarbenmelodie. The ‘real’ voice of Castiglioni can be heard in the other two items: the Altisonanza (1990-92) for orchestra, though it reflects the composer’s involvement with music from the baroque era; and his marvellous setting of Psalm 19 (1979-80), in which high tessituras predominate through the use of two solo sopranos. The Danish National Concert Choir acquit themselves with aplomb, as does the pair of soloists. Warmly recommended.

PHILIP REED Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing