horizontal line

Walking Still is experimental music of ‘indeterminate notation’ featuring the music of three British and three American composers. It’s an exploration of sound that has to be interpreted from the hieroglyphics on the page by the performers. This requires a group of exceptionally gifted singers who are at one with each other and, while given great freedom by the composer, can be controlled, expressive, rhythmic and, above all, musical – all of which director and founder Jane Alden has achieved. The major work is Cornelius Cardew’s testing Treatise, which may give you an idea of what is on the disc. Michael Applebaum’s Medium with its visually beautiful score, bearing no relationship to any music I have ever tackled, produces the type of sounds that I could imagine being choreographed. I found the evocative sonorities of Ronald Kuivila’s A City of No Allusions memorable, and Michael Parson’s Nevrazumiteiny was expressive and perceptive. It’s not an easy listen, and not always comfortable, but slowly this is the way music is going.

SHRLEY RATCLIFFE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing