horizontal line

Gerhard Weinberger turns his attention to another German master – Max Reger. This first volume of a projected complete survey enters an expanding market for Reger aficionados, Naxos having just concluded its 16-volume edition with multiple organists contributing. On two diversely expressive, recently restored instruments – a IV/88 Sauer and a III/62 Furtwängler & Hammer – Weinberger begins with some of Reger’s more substantial salutes to his great predecessor. Highlights include a suitably imposing-sounding Fantasia & Fugue on BACH, the op.16 Suite revelling in almost impetuous re-invention, and the richly contrasted Second Sonata and op.80 Twelve Pieces. Impeccable notes by Paul Thissen add telling context and detail.

MICHAEL QUINN Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2015 - ©Rhinegold Publishing