horizontal line

An inspired idea to open the disc with a selection of 1960s archival recordings by this most dynamic of composer-pianists. Here, two compact but imposing sonatas show a highly individual harmonic language and a fearsome performing technique. Tcherepnin’s younger colleague makes the most of a series of 30 well-crafted, accessible miniatures and yields nothing in terms of pianism. Well worth exploring.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing