horizontal line

An elegant reading of the ninth concerto, directed from the keyboard with real flair and a convincing ‘period’ feel, follows one of Mozart’s neglected masterpieces, the D major symphony. Greilsammer’s project is to present the composer ‘in between’ his youthful exuberance and mature mastery, a project that would have succeeded without the ten-minute work commissioned from Denis Schuler, sitting uncomfortably on a disc to which it adds nothing.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing