horizontal line

This Who’s Who of European wind players (Emmanuel Pahud, Paul Meyer, François Leleux, Gilbert Audin and Radovan Vlatković) bring an irresistible sparkle, charm and focus to an inventive selection of 20th- century works. All the usual suspects are here: Milhaud’s La cheminée du roi René and Barber’s Summer Music are particular highlights; Ravel’s Tombeau de Couperin comes up well in a transcription by Philadelphia legend Mason Jones. Excellent Bavarian Radio recordings.

GUY WEATHERALL Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Classical Music, 2014 - ©Rhinegold Publishing