horizontal line

Janáček’s music portrays a whole gamut of human emotions. It is influenced by the animal and plant worlds, underpinned by the folk tradition of the Czech countryside. The Six Moravian Choruses are a transcription of Dvořák’s duets for two voices and piano, which works very well – the captivating rhythm and repetitive nature of the music makes you want to join in! Cappella Amsterdam completely captures the spirit, with robust and sensitive performances maintained throughout the disc. The quirky Nursery Rhymes, set for solo voices, ocarina, two flutes, two clarinets, toy drum, double bass and piano, provide a humorous uniqueness of their own. On this very enjoyable disc the dramatic setting of the Our Father with operatic tenor is unliturgically magnificent.

SHIRLEY RATCLIFFE Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing