horizontal line

Spirited playing from Auckland City Organist John Wells in a varied programme makes this debut of the new Klais organ in the town hall interesting and attractive. Standard works include Buxtehude, Stanford (‘Marcia Eroica’ from Four Intermezzi op.189), through Liszt (Weinen, Klagen variations) and a sparkling rendition of Vierne’s Naïades. Contrasting pieces include Poèmes pour orgue by Tadashi Yamanouchi and Sowerby’s wistful ‘Air with Variations’ from Suite for Organ). Wells’s own Kokako Fanfare & March shows off the glass Koãuau and hand-carved Pũkãea ranks which imitate Maori instruments. Unmistakably by Klais, this organ has an individuality of voice, which makes for enjoyable listening.

MATTHEW POWER Read the full review on Agora Classica

   Read full review   

To continue reading, please upgrade to a premium account. You will have immediate full access.

Read more classical music reviews online here:

Choir & Organ, 2012 - ©Rhinegold Publishing